NEW HORIZONS CHARTER SCHOOL SOCIETY MINUTES

Type of Meeting:	SGM	Date:	October 9, 2019	Initials:	Chair	
Approved:	FINAL	Recorded by:	C. Guay		Secretary	

October 9, 2019, 7:00 p.m.

Board Members Present at Call to Order:

Nicole Pasemko Dan Hanson Shari Morin
CHAIR VICE CHAIR SECRETARY

Vincent Tong Jason Clarke
TREASURER DIRECTOR

Administration Present:

Dean Lindquist Tracy Leigh Ted Zarowny SUPERINTENDENT SECRETARY-TREASURER PRINCIPAL

Society Members Present:

Christopher Burrows Cindy Davison Ndidi Olagunju

1. Call to Order

Chair Pasemko called the meeting to order at 7:03 pm.

2. Statement of Territorial Acknowledgment

The Board of Directors of the New Horizons Charter School Society respectfully acknowledges that the land on which we meet is Treaty 6 territory, a traditional home, gathering place, and travelling route for diverse Indigenous Peoples, including Cree, Saulteaux, Blackfoot, Nakota, and Sioux, as well as the homeland of the Métis Nation. We recognize our responsibility as Treaty members and honour the heritage and gifts of the First Peoples of this land.

3. Adoption of Agenda

Motion 2019-10-09-01 Moved that the agenda for the Special General Meeting

October 9, 2019, be adopted as distributed.

Moved: Vice Chair Hanson, Seconded: Secretary Morin,

Carried

4. Statement of Quorum

Membership as of the date of Notice of Meeting (September 18, 2019) stands at 207 members and 11 members attending. Quorum reached.

FINAL Page 1

NEW HORIZONS CHARTER SCHOOL SOCIETY MINUTES

Type of Meeting:	SGM	Date:	October 9, 2019	Initials:	Chair 	
Approved:	FINAL	Recorded by:	C. Guay		Secretary	

5. Approval of Minutes

5.1 Minutes of Annual General Meeting of November 28, 2018

Motion 2019-10-09-02 Moved that the Minutes of the Annual General Meeting of

November 28, 2018, be approved.

Moved: Vice Chair Hanson, Seconded: Director Clarke,

Carried

6. Election of Board Members

Chair Pasemko requested that Superintendent Lindquist assume the role of Chair for the remainder of the Special General Meeting.

The meeting was advised of three vacancies on the Board of Directors due to the expiry of the terms of Chair Pasemko, Director Macdonald and Director Nielson respectively. Four completed nomination forms have been received. Three of these meet the Society membership requirements (must be a Member in good standing on the date of Notice of Meeting, which was September 18, 2019); one nomination for does not.

Superintendent Lindquist listed the three eligible nominations received as: Christopher Burrows, Ijeoma Ukiwe, and Nicole Pasemko.

Motion 2019-10-09-03 Moved that Christopher Burrows, Ijeoma Ukiwe, and Nicole

Pasemko be appointed by acclamation to the vacant

positions.

Moved: Treasurer Tong, Seconded: Director Clarke

Carried

7. Motion to Adjourn

Motion 2019-10-09-04 Moved that the meeting be adjourned.

Moved: Director Clarke, Seconded: Vice Chair Hanson,

Carried

Next meeting of the Board of Directors will be October 9, 2019, immediately following the Special General Meeting.

FINAL Page 2